Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: game doesnt work on Debian PC

  1. #1
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Recent versions of the game dont work on PC

    i am on Debian GNU/Linux 8.
    i purchased the game on steam.
    the website does not allow me to attach my output log file to this post, so here is a google drive link.
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/11qy...ew?usp=sharing


    and here is a recording of me attempting to play the game.
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/17Pz...ew?usp=sharing

    this is the first time im trying to play this game since alpha 12.5. i hear there has been lots of improvements and would love to play.
    Last edited by mathew2214; 12-26-2017 at 09:43 PM.

  2. #2
    Hunter Cernwn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Lurking in an underground base near you
    Posts
    114
    Rep Power
    0
    First try disabling the Steam in-game overlay, then try checking "Use GLCore Renderer" in the launcher. If neither works, scroll down the page here for other ideas:

    https://steamcommunity.com/app/25157...5566989817238/
    Last edited by Cernwn; 12-07-2017 at 12:18 AM.

  3. #3
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,293
    Rep Power
    1
    Is Debian GNU/Linux 8 even in the supported OS list?

  4. #4
    Hunter Cernwn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Lurking in an underground base near you
    Posts
    114
    Rep Power
    0
    Ubuntu 12.04+ is supported, which is a more feature-rich offshoot of Debian linux:

    http://7daystodie.com/support
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ubuntu_(operating_system)

  5. #5
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    6,527
    Rep Power
    1
    Seems like you have to go through a few hoops to get it to run on Debian, but I can never recall what they are.

  6. #6
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Cernwn View Post
    First try disabling the Steam in-game overlay, then try checking "Use GLCore Renderer" in the launcher. If neither works, scroll down the page here for other ideas:

    https://steamcommunity.com/app/25157...5566989817238/

    i tried those suggestions and everything in the steam community thread and there has been no change.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Cernwn View Post
    Ubuntu 12.04+ is supported, which is a more feature-rich offshoot of Debian linux:

    http://7daystodie.com/support
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ubuntu_(operating_system)

    i'm well aware of the existance of Ubuntu and what it is. however distribution change is not an option for me.

  7. #7
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,059
    Rep Power
    1
    Looks like a renderer issue. Did you try with GLCore?

  8. #8
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Alloc View Post
    Looks like a renderer issue. Did you try with GLCore?

    yes. however there is no change in the game's behavior

  9. #9
    Zombie Hunter
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    423
    Rep Power
    1
    I don't see mention of your gpu - which gpu, and do you have the proprietary drivers installed? 7D2D works out of the box on Slackware, I'm surprised it doesn't work on Debian also. I gave up on Ubuntu in disgust a few years ago. IIRC 7D2D it comes with its own mono install, so complain-mono-complain in the logs is not necessarily an indication of a mono problem. Post your stats. What version of Debian? Did you install mono yourself, it is a clean install?

  10. #10
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zootal View Post
    I don't see mention of your gpu - which gpu, and do you have the proprietary drivers installed? 7D2D works out of the box on Slackware, I'm surprised it doesn't work on Debian also. I gave up on Ubuntu in disgust a few years ago. IIRC 7D2D it comes with its own mono install, so complain-mono-complain in the logs is not necessarily an indication of a mono problem. Post your stats. What version of Debian? Did you install mono yourself, it is a clean install?
    here is my full hardware profile
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1K-O...ew?usp=sharing

    this is an HTMl file and must be viewed with a web browser or other HTML viewer
    Last edited by mathew2214; 12-26-2017 at 09:36 PM. Reason: to update hardware report

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •