Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: RWG spawn locations

  1. #1
    Community Moderator Crater Creator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    3,345
    Rep Power
    1

    RWG spawn locations

    Is it possible to make the player spawn in a specific location for a single player, RWG game?

    I'm making a lot of fine tweaks to the RWG mixer (finer than the previewer will show), and I'd like to always spawn in the same spot. I know I can teleport after I spawn. But if I could always spawn there directly, I wouldn't have to wait for the world to generate around whatever random position at which it spawns me, and then wait for it to generate again after the teleport.

  2. #2
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    19,241
    Rep Power
    1
    Not without hijacking the spawning system using code. Sdx mod, yes. Xml, nope.

  3. #3
    Community Moderator Crater Creator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    3,345
    Rep Power
    1
    Drat! Well thanks for the response. It seems my turnaround time from tweaking the .xml to seeing the results in game isn't going to get under two minutes then.

  4. #4
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,858
    Rep Power
    1
    I'm just working on a patchscript that will let you set a spawn point for medi mod, but it will work for other mods too

  5. #5
    Reconstructionist Alphado-Jaki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    722
    Rep Power
    1
    Not sure this will work, but I have a way which I wanna test after getting some free time.
    The idea is to generate the spawnable biome only where exists specific area in whole world.
    Set all block CanPlayersSpawnOn=false excepting a few block which exists only in this biome.

    The easiest way to restrict biome generation area is distance_from_center in biome_spawn_rule.
    Although, you can restrict more specific by using Cylinder in biome_generator, such as 100 block circle from (500,500).

  6. #6
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,858
    Rep Power
    1
    ok, I have a working patch script if you were willing to try an sdx mod

    it lets you set the spawn location, and optionally have a radius. Will post it in a bit

  7. #7
    Reconstructionist Alphado-Jaki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    722
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by StompyNZ View Post
    ok, I have a working patch script if you were willing to try an sdx mod

    it lets you set the spawn location, and optionally have a radius. Will post it in a bit
    Wow, amazing speed. :O
    GJ, sir.

  8. #8
    Colony Founder KhaineGB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    1,054
    Rep Power
    1
    Haven't tried playing around with this... but...

    Code:
    <spawnpoints>
        <spawnpoint position="1000,0,-1000" rotation="0,45,0"/>
    	<spawnpoint position="-1000,0,-1000" rotation="0,315,0"/>
        <spawnpoint position="-1000,0,1000" rotation="0,135,0"/>
        <spawnpoint position="1000,0,1000" rotation="0,225,0"/>
        
    	<spawnpoint position="0,0,-1000" rotation="0,0,0"/>
    	<spawnpoint position="-1000,0,0" rotation="0,180,0"/>
    	<spawnpoint position="0,0,1000" rotation="0,270,0"/>
    	<spawnpoint position="1000,0,0" rotation="0,90,0"/>
    </spawnpoints>
    That's in /data/worlds/random gen/spawnpoints.xml

    I would guess, if you delete a ton of those and set co-ordinates, you'll spawn in the same place every time.

  9. #9
    Reconstructionist Alphado-Jaki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    722
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by KhaineGB View Post
    Haven't tried playing around with this... but...

    Code:
    <spawnpoints>
        <spawnpoint position="1000,0,-1000" rotation="0,45,0"/>
    	<spawnpoint position="-1000,0,-1000" rotation="0,315,0"/>
        <spawnpoint position="-1000,0,1000" rotation="0,135,0"/>
        <spawnpoint position="1000,0,1000" rotation="0,225,0"/>
        
    	<spawnpoint position="0,0,-1000" rotation="0,0,0"/>
    	<spawnpoint position="-1000,0,0" rotation="0,180,0"/>
    	<spawnpoint position="0,0,1000" rotation="0,270,0"/>
    	<spawnpoint position="1000,0,0" rotation="0,90,0"/>
    </spawnpoints>
    That's in /data/worlds/random gen/spawnpoints.xml

    I would guess, if you delete a ton of those and set co-ordinates, you'll spawn in the same place every time.
    Sadly that's not working no longer, since 5 or more alpha before.

  10. #10
    Inventor Haidrgna's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    872
    Rep Power
    1
    I think if the game cannot find a suitable spawnpoint (a biome that allows players to spawn in) it will dump him at 0,0 instead. Thats what I have been using to make people spawn in the map center in Horde Mode. Downside is that it also removes respawning, dumping players where they have died instead.

    I think if you would make all blocks except for a small bunch not allow spawns it would most likely result in this as well, unless it happens to randomly select the spot you wanted instead.

    Its like a world with only wasteland and some patches of water biome, sometime the player will spawn in such a water biome if happens to be at the correct spot, otherwise the player gets deposited in 0,0.

    But it could be worth a test, but I think it would probably require a edit to the spawn code.

    I hope A17 these things (spawn points, additional biomes, road smoothing etc) will be exposed in the xmls.

  11. #11
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,858
    Rep Power
    1
    yeah the default spawnpoint is Undef which is vector3.zero

    I had my script working, but tried some other stuff and broke it... I'll post it later today once I get a few bits working better on it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •