Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [Custom Armor] 2 Questions !

  1. #1
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    105
    Rep Power
    0

    [Custom Armor] 2 Questions !

    Hello!

    I have the following 2 problems:

    1.) I simply don't get the colour for the item which I set for it in the XML. I want a white Hazmat Helmet which emits light.

    Colour: 250,240,240

    But ingame, it has another colour! Same for the Icon ... See yourself:







    2.) 2nd Question just solved ....


    Any advice for the 1.) ?
    Last edited by The Loooser; 04-14-2018 at 12:21 PM.

  2. #2
    Colony Founder xyth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,191
    Rep Power
    1
    Try specifying a custom icon, it looks like your using the default icon. For example:
    <property name="CustomIcon" value="leatherHood" />
    <property name="CustomIconTint" value="87,87,87" />

  3. #3
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    105
    Rep Power
    0
    So you mean I should just replace

    <property name="CustomIcon" value="hazmatMask"/>
    <property name="CustomIconTint" value="250,240,240"/>

    with

    <property name="CustomIcon" value="leatherHood" />
    <property name="CustomIconTint" value="87,87,87" />

    ?

    Then is just has an Icon of the Leather Hood. But how does this help me?


    Maybe you could just copy and paste the lines and insert what is needed ? Because I don't really understand what you mean : C

    The colour shall be 250,240,240:



    <item id="1505" name="advanced hazmat Mask">
    <property name="CustomIcon" value="hazmatMask"/>
    <property name="CustomIconTint" value="250,240,240"/>
    <property name="Waterproof" value="0.15"/>
    <property name="Class" value="ItemClassToggle"/>
    <property name="Meshfile" value="Items/Misc/sackPrefab"/>
    <property name="DropMeshfile" value="Items/Misc/sack_droppedPrefab"/>
    <property name="Material" value="metal"/>
    <property name="RepairTools" value="leather"/>
    <property name="HoldType" value="45"/>
    <property name="Weight" value="60"/>
    <property name="EconomicValue" value="1200"/>
    <property name="LightSource" value="Entities/Lighting/miningHelmetLightSource"/>
    <property name="EquipSlot" value="Head"/>
    <property name="Degradation" value="250" param1="true"/>
    <property name="DegradationBreaksAfter" value="false"/>
    <property name="Encumbrance" value="0.01"/>
    <property class="Attributes"> <!-- scrapArmor -->
    <property name="ConcussiveProtection" value="0.228,0.57"/>
    <property name="PunctureProtection" value="0.18,0.45"/>
    <property name="FireProtection" value="0.16,0.4"/>
    <property name="RadiationProtection" value="0.12,0.3"/>
    <property name="ElectricalProtection" value="0.06,0.1"/>
    <property name="DegradationMax" value="240,600"/>
    </property>
    <property name="ActivateObject" value="miningHelmetLightSource(Clone)"/>
    <property class="UMA">
    <property name="Overlay0Tint" value="250,240,240"/>
    <property name="Mesh" value="armor_hazmat_head"/>
    <property name="Overlay0" value="armor_hazmat_hood"/>
    <property name="Layer" value="2"/>
    <property name="UISlot" value="Headgear"/>
    <property name="ShowAltHair" value="true"/>
    </property>
    <property name="Group" value="Clothing"/>
    <property name="ActionSkillGroup" value="Clothing/Armor"/>
    <property name="CraftingSkillGroup" value="craftSkillScience"/>
    <property name="RepairExpMultiplier" value="10.8"/>
    <property name="LightValue" value="0.7"/>
    </item>
    Last edited by The Loooser; 04-14-2018 at 01:13 PM.

  4. #4
    Colony Founder xyth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,191
    Rep Power
    1
    <property name="CustomIcon" value="advancedhazmatMask"/>
    <property name="CustomIconTint" value="250,240,240"/>

    make a new icon, then tint that. The game might be resetting the default icon.

  5. #5
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    105
    Rep Power
    0
    So instead of writing

    <property name="CustomIcon" value="hazmatMask"/>

    I shall write

    <property name="CustomIcon" value="advancedhazmatMask"/>

    Is this all to *make* a new icon?

    I just did it and now the only difference is that the icon of the item in the equip slot is missing. So I guess the game does not know *advancedhazmatMask* and I indeed need to do something different to *make* it as a new icon?



    But also what you talk about is related to the ICON but not the item itself ? Because I feel like this would not solve the problem with the item being not white in the real game.
    Last edited by The Loooser; 04-14-2018 at 01:32 PM.

  6. #6
    Reconstructionist Darkstardragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    681
    Rep Power
    1
    When you change an item of clothings color, it does not always translate well. Tinting a certain piece of clothing or armor white especially. Yes, you need to rename your item. Yes, you need to apply a custom icon the name can be the same but change the color of the icon as well. I changed the hazmat suit army green and it worked out well, when i tried white couldnt notice much of a difference in color.
    Last edited by Darkstardragon; 04-15-2018 at 01:38 AM.

  7. #7
    Reconstructionist sinda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    arcadia
    Posts
    516
    Rep Power
    1
    what's the 0 in the "Overylay0" part? would that be a measure of opacity?

    if so that could help, but otherwise white doesn't overlay other colors well anywhere photo programs, etc

  8. #8
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    105
    Rep Power
    0
    I don't know but every Item has it. Therefore does not seem like you could even remove it.

    I cannot even repaint Items which Vedui does in this Videos. See me dying Military Boots - it is not even working !!!!!



    I copied what Vedui did and made them white. They don't change at all.
    Last edited by The Loooser; 04-17-2018 at 09:49 PM.

  9. #9
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,795
    Rep Power
    1
    Overylay0 - the 0 is just an index, you can have Overylay1, Overylay2 etc

    The colour for an item is a tint over the existing mesh material, so you can only get close matches if the uncolored item is white (hazmat are orange)

    To achieve fully what you are wanting you'd have to edit the uma textures, but from what I've heard that's difficult (works in previewer, crashes in game)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •