Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

Thread: Reached a point (again) where I'm fed up with the game.

  1. #1
    Hunter Michlo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Originally Wallasey, UK now Los Angeles, USA.
    Posts
    105
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry Reached a point (again) where I'm fed up with the game.

    Greetings.

    I have 522 hours into this game. Obviously, I like it. I just came back recently for another go and I've hit the same point that I (forgot I) hit before and it is really souring my experience.

    After a lot of effort, I have my base (the farmhouse) rather well defended. I have the top-tier steel spikes around the perimeter and the lower couple of rows of blocks are also the top tier steel.

    You'd think that would be enough to go and safely explore for a while without having to worry about the base.

    Nope.

    Despite the fact that these zombies still only have flesh and blood hands, their slightest touch on steel spikes is enough to degrade them.

    Since, after day 51 (I think I'm at 56 now) hordes are descending every day, I sometimes don't even get to leave as I'm dealing with hordes and then the numerous repairs over and over again. Often, I'm just about finishing up with one horde of about thirty when another rolls right up!

    And WHY am I suddenly having sleepers spring into being inside the farmhouse WHERE I LIVE? How could they possibly get in?

    I know you want us to have challenges but when we get all the way to steel we should be able to have a break to go and do something else, explore or create another project, without having to worry that our base is being destroyed. It should take hundreds of zombies before there is the slightest scratch on steel!

    So, my questions are: will the integrity of higher tier materials ever be addressed?
    Will we be given a point to aim for where we can finally relax a little?
    Is this a bug with the sleepers? It seems to happen if I close the two main doors (I don't always).
    Is endless hordes after a certain day a known mechanic? I only have two forges, one in the attic and one in my mine area at bedrock so surely that isn't enough to draw them.

    I want to keep playing this game but NOT as a janitor.

    Cheers.
    Last edited by Michlo; 04-24-2018 at 11:09 PM.

  2. #2
    Colony Founder The Gronk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,947
    Rep Power
    1
    The sleeper thing is a known bug. A workaround is to place a block where they spawn, remove the block and they'll eventually respawn if you reload the game.

    Everything else can be done by messing with the xml files. You can manually set the block durability to make them far tougher, you can lower the spawn rate of hordes and choose what type of zombie appears when they do. There's a huge amount of stuff in there you can customize, have a look, xml isn't that difficult. :-)

  3. #3
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    514
    Rep Power
    1
    A couple of easy fixes for you:

    1) Turn off spike damage. You can set it so that spikes don't degrade when zeds walk on them.

    2) Upgrade HP for reinforced steel blocks. Of course you can do this for all blocks with block hardness, but that may not be what you want. Also realize this will make it a real pain to rmeove anything you place accidentally.

    As for endless hordes, A16 is tuned so that you get 1-2 wandering hordes per day. Depending on gamestrage and luck, these can get pretty nasty. If you don't mind missing out on the XP and loot, you can turn them off. If the problem is screamers, turn off your forges or build a crafting base away from the base you want to protect.

    Regarding spawns inside your base, I'm assuming you're using a reinforced POI? That's always going to be a bit problematic if your bedroll can't cover the whole POI. The only way to stop spawns completely is build a base from scratch.

    Hope this helps!

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Crater Creator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2,957
    Rep Power
    1
    Consider if you really need your steel spikes in pristine condition at all times. I canít look up the real numbers right now, but a spike at 11,970/12,000 hit points isnít going anywhere, and repairing it at that point is wasteful. The other posters are correct about sleeper spawns - see the sticky in the Questions section for all your spawn-related questions.

  5. #5
    Hunter Michlo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Originally Wallasey, UK now Los Angeles, USA.
    Posts
    105
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you both. Yes, I'm going to try my first XML edits.

    So far, I've found how to decrease zombie damage to all blocks but do either of you have a link to a guide for only decreasing damage to the toughest blocks, please?

    Yes, I do use a reinforced POI. I'm partial to the corn farmhouse. The spawns have been right next to my bedroll, however so I think it is bugged.

    You've both been a big help, thank you.

    Cheers.

  6. #6
    Colony Founder Royal Deluxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    4,448
    Rep Power
    1
    Never cleaned up the Thread or made a final balance but no major bugs, (nerly no minor)
    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...ls-Vanilla-Mod
    Use the mod or use the info if you make your own ^^

    The maybe interesting part for you starts here
    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...l=1#post756770
    Last edited by Royal Deluxe; 04-25-2018 at 02:31 AM.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Roland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    On a Zipline
    Posts
    11,656
    Rep Power
    2
    Can anyone really confirm that placing a block where you've seen a sleeper spawn actually works? I've seen prefabs with the sleeper volume visible and there are dozens and dozens of possible locations for the sleepers to spawn. You wade through ghost zombie bodies as you walk through the prefab. Seems like placing a block where you saw the zombie spawn would only plug the one possibility.

  8. #8
    Hood Ornament Gamida's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    The Rock
    Posts
    3,569
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Royal Deluxe View Post
    The maybe interesting part for you starts here
    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...l=1#post756770
    Was looking at your Trinium Blocks. Interesting. Was thinking though if zombies were beating on the blocks you would get those unsightly cracks in your base. What if you made the block only have one hitpoint. As it downgrades into itself anyway shoudn't it keep the block nice and clean. I wasn't sure if the constant replacing of the blocks would cause any undo strain on a server.
    Hmmm, may have to try this on my own server.

  9. #9
    Colony Founder Royal Deluxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    4,448
    Rep Power
    1
    Should work, the 20 000 i used to give Trolls something to do^^
    Besides that, i would use this blocks only in basement (where they take no damage)
    and as outer wall (where i like some cracks, feels immersive )

  10. #10
    Colony Founder The Gronk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,947
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Roland View Post
    Can anyone really confirm that placing a block where you've seen a sleeper spawn actually works? I've seen prefabs with the sleeper volume visible and there are dozens and dozens of possible locations for the sleepers to spawn. You wade through ghost zombie bodies as you walk through the prefab. Seems like placing a block where you saw the zombie spawn would only plug the one possibility.
    Fair point, I've never checked this myself.

    Another workaround would be to edit the prefab of the POI you like to take over and remove the sleeper spawns from it. This would likely require starting a new game or at least relocating to an area of the map you've never visited before to spawn the POI with no sleepers.

  11. #11
    Colony Founder Royal Deluxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    4,448
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Roland View Post
    Can anyone really confirm that placing a block where you've seen a sleeper spawn actually works? I've seen prefabs with the sleeper volume visible and there are dozens and dozens of possible locations for the sleepers to spawn. You wade through ghost zombie bodies as you walk through the prefab. Seems like placing a block where you saw the zombie spawn would only plug the one possibility.
    No idea, there was a time in experimental i had proof that the sleeper spawn INSIDE player placed blocks (Had a screen with a sleeper inside a block spawned, but (normally they simply Glitch upwards) he was trapped with his head inside my Concrete mixer)
    I am really not sure if this has ever been fixed

  12. #12
    Inventor toores's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    897
    Rep Power
    1
    I'm reading the OP and thinking, we need 2 different game modes.
    1. one with GPS hordes every 7 days (and horde mode with GPS every day)
    2. another without GPS where you can hide in your base and let the horde pass.

    Co-op with GPS hordes sound way cool but in solo it's too tedious to keep me interested.

  13. #13
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,834
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Roland View Post
    Can anyone really confirm that placing a block where you've seen a sleeper spawn actually works? I've seen prefabs with the sleeper volume visible and there are dozens and dozens of possible locations for the sleepers to spawn. You wade through ghost zombie bodies as you walk through the prefab. Seems like placing a block where you saw the zombie spawn would only plug the one possibility.
    If the block is replaced with something then it only removes that single spawn point and any of the other sleeper blocks can still be used.

    If I remember the code I read it should trigger a delegate that removes any sleeper spawn point in that block so it won't spawn a sleeper inside the block, and if that block is removed it doesn't re-add the spawn point. so replace the bottom block where there's room for an entity to spawn and you will clear all the sleeper spawns for good.

    other option is delete the sleeper volume from the chunk with sdx or an api mod

  14. #14
    Hood Ornament Gamida's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    The Rock
    Posts
    3,569
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Royal Deluxe View Post
    Should work, the 20 000 i used to give Trolls something to do^^
    Besides that, i would use this blocks only in basement (where they take no damage)
    and as outer wall (where i like some cracks, feels immersive )
    Yes, I can see only having to use the block for lower level.
    Royal, do you have a cracks addiction.....:P

  15. #15
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    41
    Rep Power
    0
    I don't see what you're complaining about. I'm on day 133, with just a normal base protected by a wall and steel spikes. Steel spikes give you a heap of bang for your buck, and it takes maybe, 5 - 10 minutes of mining to get enough iron to repair steel spikes for a week? Of course, it's a big waste of time to repair every spike up to 100% every time they've been damaged. Just wait until they've been downgraded to a scrap metal spike, then it takes half a second to repair it to a 100% steel spike.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •